Monday, October 28, 2013


News: Sarastro Blake Release Debut CD, New Progmantics

Italian Prog Ensemble Sarastro Blake Release Debut CD ‘New Progmantics’ Featuring Members of YES, Caravan, Greenslade, Alan Parsons Project and Steve Hackett Band.

A new project Italian project called Sarastro Blake just released their debut album titled New Progmantics (2013). Sarastro Blake is a new musical project which takes its inspiration from the Alan Parsons Project as a band format, meaning it revolves around a few selected musicians, plus other special guests who are chosen for their specific talent and for certain songs. Featuring prog legends Rick Wakeman (Yes), Richard Sinclair (Caravan/Hatfield & The North), Nick Magnus (Steve Hackett), David Paton (Alan Parsons Project), Dave Lawson (Greenslade), Billy Sherwood (Yes) and Amanda Lehmann (Steve Hackett band).

The project first came to light when Paolo Pigni (bass, acoustic guitars and vocals) teamed up with multi-instrumentalist and member of prog group Mogador, Luca Briccola, who also produced the album. Richard Allen, also of Mogador, helped with vocals and management. Mirko Soncini and Filippo Pedretti, both of Celtic Harp Orchestra, played drums and violin respectively. Last but not least, Serena Bossi and Marco Carenzio from folk prog outfit Trewa (led by Briccola as well) provided vocals.

Says Paolo, “The concept behind the album is quite ‘romantic’ as the title suggests. There is the seeking of a spiritual path and certain nostalgia of the past, which are embedded in the lyrics of some of the most illustrious British poets and painters. Some of the lyrics I wrote myself, which I published a few years ago in a booklet called ‘A Pocketful of Poetry’, under the pseudonym George William Payne. In the end I realized most of the words dealt with love, whether spiritual or for a person, with hope and disillusion.”

Although titled New Progmantics (2013) the album has nothing ‘new’ about it, but rather it is retro, old fashioned and indeed romantic!

1. The Lady Of Shalott
2. Clare's Song
3. Scotland The Place
4. Sonnet 116
5. Stanzas For Music
6. Prelude To The Highlands
7. My Heart's In The Highlands
8. Remember
9. Flaming June
10. Beyond
11. Solitary Bench

You can order your copy of the CD HERE.

Source: Press release

Sarastro Blake links:
Official website

See more 
Sarastro Blake on Progshine:
Other news



0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!