Tuesday, December 03, 2013


News: Transatlantic Premiere Video For New Track ‘Shine’

Transatlantic premiere video and reveal formats for the upcoming album.

Progressive Rock Supergroup Transatlantic,featuring  Neal Morse (ex-Spock's Beard, solo), Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings, Agents Of Mercy), Mike Portnoy (Neal Morse, ex-Dream Theater) and Pete Trewavas (Marillion, Edison's Children) will release their brand new fourth studio album ‘Kaleidoscope’ (2014) on the 27th January 2014.

They started to promote the album yesterday with the band’s first ever music video for the track ‘Shine’.
You can see the video below:

Mike Portnoy had this to say about it: "Here it is...the very first Transatlantic music video! We shot this video this past September in London the day after the Progressive Music Awards. What a beautiful setting it was to shoot in!
Picking a song to do a video for wasn't easy as most TA songs are about 30 minutes...hahaha!
But 'Shine' was a cool choice as it’s such a beautiful song with all 4 of us sharing the vocals. Enjoy!"

Roine Stolt adds this about his memories of the day: ‘Big day Sept 4th – Transatlantic’s 1st ever "music video" - Starting the day at 6:00am in the hotel toilet in London with a stomach flu…..or wait…..it was the PROG awards night yesterday - too much to drink? Or food poisoning ? - no, it's possibly a better option to say "I had a monumental hangover" as the true bad boy of prog I am - that'll give more cred. That'll get me more fans.
Back to reality - after a nightmarish looong drive to the chapel where we were supposed to film - finding it to be a really cool location, I can sense it's gonna look great, trying to get some rest on the lawn while the video crew sets up - we knew them from our Shepherds Bush DVD filming back in 2010 - they're really nice people. The sun is shining - I realize we're in a sort of "retirement area" neighbourhood, very London - very cool - I feel like a Beatle.
Taking all the sickness in, I still felt it was a good day - and thankfully getting better by the hour. All band and crew are so professional so it makes it an easy ride, also thankful that the song itself almost gets better with each run thru. Now, I do not recommend improvising too much on your guitar solo or making it too complicated if you ever record a song with the prospect of doing a video later. At least my small Swedish Neanderthal brain cannot recreate the genius of Master Stolt, it's too many frikkin' notes and bends and too angular, or plain weird. I soooo wished I was Keith Richards, Neil Young or Chuck Berry.
Long day - many takes - lunch - stomach feeling better. Sun goes down - back to hotel and dinner with Mr. Morse, nice chat about music, God and life and …..good, good night‘s sleep - then heading home to the land of the Vikings.
Well kids - just another day in an insanely rich, famous and iconic rock star‘s life. Enjoy the ride.’

It has also been revealed that Kaleidoscope (2014) will be released on four different formats, including a limited edition Deluxe Artbook with 2CDs, DVD and Bonus 5.1 Mix DVD-Video in an LP-sized book with loads of pictures, liner notes and a lenticular card cover. There will also be 2CD & DVD Mediabook, Standard 2CD Jewelcase and a 3LP & 2CD in slipcase. Pre-orders for the album will begin on the InsideOutShop on the 27th December. The full tracklisting for both discs can be found below:

1. Into The Blue (25:13)
2. Shine (7:28)
3. Black As the Sky (6:45)
4. Beyond The Sun (4:31)
5. Kaleidoscope (31:53)

CD2 (Bonus CD):
1. And You And I (Yes cover) (10:45)
2. Can't Get It Out Of My Head (ELO cover) (4:46)
3. Conquistador (Procol Harum cover) (4:13)
4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Elton John) (3:20)
5. Tin Soldier (Small Faces cover) (3:22)
6. Sylvia (Focus cover) (3:49)
7. Indiscipline (King Crimson cover) (4:45)
8. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues cover) (6:13)

The band will embark on a 6-week World Tour that will see them joined once again by Pain of Salvation’s Daniel Gildenlöw as a 5th touring member. As part of the extensive tour, the band will also headline the Progressive Nation At Sea 2014 Cruisefrom the 18th till the 22nd February alongside 22 other leading Prog acts including Adrian Belew Power Trio, Devin Townsend Project, King's X, Anathema, Spock’s Beard and many more. This unique performance will see the band performing a very special encore of classic Yes material with the legendary Jon Anderson on vocals.

For more information about the tour visit THIS LINK.

Source: Press release

Transatlantic links:
Official website

See more 
Transatlantic on Progshine:
Other news



0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!