Saturday, February 08, 2014


News: Asia Set To Release New Studio Album Called Gravitas In March

Asia set to release the new studio album Gravitas in March on Frontiers label.

Asia moves into the next phase of its career with Gravitas (2014). Produced and written by band members John Wetton and Geoff Downes, Gravitas (2014) introduces the world to Asia's new guitarist, Sam Coulson, who came at the recommendation of Mr Big’s Paul Gilbert.

Scheduled for release on Frontiers Records on March 21st (Europe); and March 25th (North America), the album will be available in two configurations: a standard CD and a Deluxe Edition, that will include two bonus tracks and a DVD containing the 'Valkyrie' music video, a promotional film, and footage of classic live Asia tracks such as 'Heat Of The Moment', recorded with the Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra in Bulgaria.

“Pure, unadulterated and stereotypical Asia, with raw energy, enthusiasm and free from impurities,” says John Wetton. “It conveys the spectrum of emotion and colour from real life agonies to ecstatic fantasy of escapism. Great songs, fabulous performance. Gravitas (2014) is Asia by Asia. At last.”

"With the addition of Sam it allowed us to take the band in a slightly different, and perhaps tougher, direction,” says Carl Palmer. “As a band we have been able to grow, while at the same time, remain true to the classic Asia sound that our fans know and love."

“It always was a great live band, but this time the dragon has awakened with fresh energy, direction and purpose,” says Wetton. "As with any new Asia album, putting it all together presents something of a challenge,” says Geoff Downes. “Everyone involved rose way above and beyond this challenge. There is a renewed energy when we step on stage now; we can feel it and I know the fans can feel it.”

For Asia's long-devoted fans, the band’s return to the concert stage can not come soon enough. As Palmer says: "Performing on stage is where this band truly comes into its element. Seeing the fans reacting to our music is what makes it all worthwhile. It is the fuel that drives this train we call Asia."

Artwork, as usual, was done by the great Roger Dean as you can see above.

1. Valkyrie
2. Gravitas
3. The Closer I Get To You
4. Nyctophobia
5. Russian Dolls
6. Heaven Help Me Now
7. I Would Die For You
8. Joe Di Maggio’s Glove
9. Till We Meet Again
Bonus tracks
10. The Closer I Get To You (Acoustic)
11. Joe Di Maggio’s Glove (Acoustic)
Valkyrie (videoclip)
Heat Of The Moment (Live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra)
TBA (Live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra)
TBA (Live in Plovdiv with Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra).

To pre-order any the CD visit THIS LINK or the Special Edition HERE.

Source: Press release

Asia links:
Official website


See more Asia
 on Progshine:
Other news



0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!