Tuesday, October 21, 2014


News: Peter Hammill Releases New Album In November

Peter Hammill releases new cd in November.

Van Der Graaf Generator's Peter Hammill is about to release a new album called ...All That Might Have Been... (2014) through Burning Shed.

This is not a disc of conventional songs, though the fragments from which it's formed originally came from discrete examples of the standard form. These pieces, though, have been cut up and rearranged to form a continuous whole. 
As in a film, scenes blur into one another, moving backwards and forwards in time and space. Characters appear and disappear, wait in the shadows or are suddenly front of stage and under the spotlight. It's a chiaroscuro, quicksand world in which the music is both its own soundtrack and screenplay. 

Written and recorded over an eighteen month period - the longest ever for a PH solo work - the album has gone through many twists, turns and transformations before arriving in this final form. It's not a concept album as such but its use of jagged soundscapes, fleeting and shadowed characters and elusive plotlines place it closer to a cinematic world than a narrative song one. 

The sound palate consists of guitars, synths, crushed beats and, of course, insistent vocals and is unlike anything else Peter has attempted during his forty-five year career. The music is continuous, cross-fading from one piece to another. 

Pre-order for 24th November release is now open. The album comes in 3 different formats: Standard CD, LP (all pre-orders of the LP come signed by PH) and 3CD boxset.

1. In Overview
2. The Last Time 
3. Never Wanted 
4. As For Him 
5. Nowhere Special 
6. Piper Smile 
7. Wanted To Belong 
8. This Might.... 
9. Inklings, Darling 
10. Be Careful 
11. Alien Clock 
12. Drifting Through 
13. Washed Up 
14. Rumpled Sheets 
15. Fool-proof 
16. Can't Get Home 
17. Washed Away 
18. Back Road 
19. The Line Goes Dead 
20. He Turns Away 
21. Hooks 

You can pre-order your copy RIGHT HERE.

Source: Press release

Peter Hammill links:
Official website

See more 
Peter Hammill on Progshine:
Other news/Articles



0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!