Friday, June 19, 2015


News: Roger Waters Announces Newly Remixed Version Of Amused To Death

Roger Waters announces re-release of Amused To Death with many extras.

Roger Waters has formally announced a newly remastered version of his 1992 solo album Amused To Death. It’ll be available in a variety of formats — including CD, Blu-ray, SACD, hi-res digital download, and 2xLP vinyl — on Friday, July 24h through Columbia / Legacy Records.

The remaster was remixed in 5.1 surround sound high-definition audio by Waters and co-producer James Guthrie. In a video interview, which you can watch below, Waters explained that he changed “quite a few things from the [original] stereo mix.” “We’ve done amalgams in some places,” such as adding a melody to the bridge of 'The Bravery of Being Out of Range'.

The record features Jeff Beck on guitar and Randy Jackson on bass in two tracks. In an interview with the BBC, the bassist/songwriter said he believes it surpasses everything in Pink Floyd’s catalog besides The Dark Side Of The Moon and The Wall.

The record was previously reissued in 2011 as part of the The Roger Waters Collection box set. This new edition, however, features new artwork (see above). The tracklist is below, followed by a video of Waters performing the title track live in 2000.

The reissue also comes with new cover and gatefold art created by Sean Evans, the creative director of Waters’ 'The Wall Live' tour and movie.

Amused To Death “didn’t get the attention it deserved when it came out 23 years ago,” Waters added. “I’m remembering the record from [over] 20 years ago, that most of what I had to say then sadly still pertains today and is maybe even more relevant to our predicament as people in 2015 even than it was in 1992.”

The 2015 editions of Amused To Death will be available on: CD, CD & Blu-ray, SACD, Hi-res digital download, 2LP 200 gram vinyl (pressed at Quality Record Pressings), Limited edition, numbered 2LP picture disc vinyl & Standard 2LP vinyl.

The CD + Blu-ray edition, and the SACD edition, of Amused To Death both features the new 5.1 surround remix of the album in high definition. The artwork and packaging has been updated for 2015 by Sean Evans, the creative director of Waters' 2010-2013 The Wall Live tour and movie (which is yet to have a commercial release, despite its Canadian screenings). The standard CD edition, as well as the vinyl editions, feature the newly remastered stereo mix of the album.

Amused to Death Tracklist:
01. The Ballad of Bill Hubbard
02. What God Wants, Pt. I
03. Perfect Sense, Pt. I
04. Perfect Sense, Pt. II
05. The Bravery of Being Out of Range
06. Late Home Tonight, Pt. I
07. Late Home Tonight, Pt. II
08. Too Much Rope
09. What God Wants, Pt. II
10. What God Wants, Pt. III
11. Watching TV
12. Three Wishes
13. It’s a Miracle
14. Amused to Death

More information and Waters' thoughts about the re-release on the video below:

Source: Brain Damage & Consequence Of Sound

Roger Waters links:
Official website


See more Roger Waters 
on Progshine:
Other news



0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!