Thursday, August 11, 2016


News: Arjen Lucassen Re-Releases Rare Out Of Print Album Strange Hobby

Dutch musician Arjen Anthony Lucassen re-releases his rare album “Strange Hobby.

Strange Hobby was previously released in 1996 but with a twist, originally the album didn't say a word about who the artist behind the album was!

Although during the years there were many saying that this was an Arjen album only now it is confirmed! It can now be announced officialy that it was the Dutch Prog artist Arjen Anthony Lucassen.

Arjen Anthony Lucassen is a Dutch Progressive Rock/Metal songwriter, singer, multi-instrumentalist and record producer, best known for his long-running progressive opera project titled Ayreon. But being a workaholic, he also released albums with many different projects like Ambeon, Bodine, The Gentle Storm, Guilt Machine, Star One, Stream of Passion and also solo albums.

Strange Hobby has been out of print for over a decade and is now a much sought after collectors' item. This new edition includes four bonus tracks which have not been available on CD previously.
Of this re-release, Arjen said: “Back in 1996 I had so much fun recording Strange Hobby! It was great to take a break from recording my complex, bombastic Ayreon prog-extravaganzas and blow off some steam blasting out these rocky cover versions of my favorite songs from the sixties. I hope you’ll enjoy listening to this psychedelic blast from the past as much as I enjoyed recording it! Groovy!”
 This re-release of Strange Hobby is the the first on Arjen's own label, Aluca Music, and it's distributed via Cherry Red.

1. Arnold Layne - 2:59
2. Norwegian Wood - 2:08
3. Pictures of Matchstick Men - 3:11
4. I Am a Rock - 2:35
5. Boris the Spider - 2:11
6. (Further Reflections) In the Room of Percussion - 3:11
7. Sunny Afternoon - 3:29
8. See Emily Play - 2:42
9. For No One - 2:03
10. I Want You - 2:38
11. Bus Stop - 3:05
12. Flowers in the Rain - 2:11
13. The Letter - 2:08
14. Ride a White Swan - 2:18
15. Sloop John B. - 2:58
16. Daydream Believer - 2:42
17. Catch the Wind - 1:59
18. Ice in the Sun - 2:26
19. Pretty Girls - 2:42
20. In the Room of Percussion (feat. Peter Daltrey) - 2:59
21. Last Train to Clarksville - 2:27
22. Ruby Tuesday - 2:48

You can purchase your copy through AMAZON or directly on CHERRY RED online shop.

Source: Press release

Arjen Lucassen links:
Official website


More about Arjen Lucassen on Progshine:
Other News & Articles


0 comentários:

Post a Comment

Your comment was saved and will be online as soon as a moderator take a look at it. Thank you!